Skip to main content
Die relative Kunst der Unfuge
Die relative Kunst der Unfuge
Martin Brandlmayr & Peter Brandlmayr
7.10.–11.10.
Akademie Graz

A room at the Akademie Graz: the instruments of a string quartet, three drums, chairs, and music stands wait for performers and audience. But, as if by magic, the string and percussion instruments already sound out when visitors enter the room. So-called transducers cause the instruments to produce sound without anyone touching them. The sound piece Die relative Kunst der Unfuge by Martin and Peter Brandlmayr is projected onto the instruments with the aid of this technology and played back over speakers on several channels.

The two brothers dig deep in our cultural memory, collaging and/or manipulating material by Johann Sebastian Bach, Marcel Duchamp, Jacques Derrida, Ludwig van Beethoven, Anna Karina, Helge Schneider, Anton Webern, Billie Holiday, Stanley Kubrick, Susan Sontag, David Bowie, Gilles Deleuze, Monty Python, Jean-Luc Godard, and many more.

What is thus created is an abstract albeit strangely enlivened sound piece that seems to be equipped with a mysterious inner power. Charcoal sketches on the walls and a video clip invite one to search for clues. Martin and Peter Brandlmayr enable us to immerse ourselves in the pool of the auditory (sub-)consciousness of our culture and to trace the enigma of the lively and hence of that which is “somewhat recalcitrant, not at one’s disposal.”

Werke
Wed, Oct 7 2020, 10am - 7pm
Thu, Oct 8 2020, 10am - 7pm
Fri, Oct 9 2020, 10am - 7pm
Sat, Oct 10 2020, 10am - 7pm
Sun, Oct 11 2020, 10am - 7pm
Martin Brandlmayr & Peter Brandlmayr
Akademie Graz
Installation
Uraufführung
Kooperationen

A production of ORF musikprotokoll.

Martin Brandlmayr
Martin Brandlmayr
Peter Brandlmayr
Peter Brandlmayr

Direkt zum Inhalt
Die relative Kunst der Unfuge
Die relative Kunst der Unfuge
Martin Brandlmayr & Peter Brandlmayr
7.10.–11.10.
Akademie Graz

Ein Raum in der Akademie Graz. Die Instrumente eines Streichquartetts, drei Trommeln, Stühle und Notenpulte warten auf Ausführende und Publikum. Doch wie von Geisterhand erklingen schon mit dem Eintreten der Besucher*innen die Streich- und Schlaginstrumente. Sogenannte Transducer bringen die Instrumente zum Klingen, ohne dass sie jemand berührt. Das Klangstück Die relative Kunst der Unfuge von Martin und Peter Brandlmayr wird mithilfe dieser Technik auf die Instrumente projiziert und über Lautsprecher auf mehreren Kanälen wiedergegeben.

Die beiden Brüder fischen in unserem kulturellen Gedächtnis und collagieren beziehungsweise manipulieren hierbei Material von Johann Sebastian Bach, Marcel Duchamp, Jacques Derrida, Ludwig van Beethoven, Anna Karina, Helge Schneider, Anton Webern, Billie Holiday, Stanley Kubrick, Susan Sontag, David Bowie, Gilles Deleuze, Monty Python, Jean-Luc Godard und vielen mehr.

Es entsteht ein abstraktes Klangstück, das mit einer rätselhaften inneren Kraft ausgestattet zu sein scheint und auf seltsame Weise belebt wirkt. Kohleskizzen an den Wänden und ein Videoclip laden zur Spurensuche ein. Martin und Peter Brandlmayr ermöglichen uns, ins Becken des auditiven (Unter-)Bewusstseins unserer Kultur einzutauchen und dem Rätsel des Lebendigen und somit „dem relativ Widerständigen, Unverfügten“ nachzuspüren.

Werke
07.10.2020 | 10:00 - 19:00
08.10.2020 | 10:00 - 19:00
09.10.2020 | 10:00 - 19:00
10.10.2020 | 10:00 - 19:00
11.10.2020 | 10:00 - 19:00
Martin Brandlmayr & Peter Brandlmayr
Akademie Graz
Installation
Uraufführung
Kooperationen

Die Installation „Die relative Kunst der Fuge“ ist ein Auftragswerk des ORF musikprotokoll.

Martin Brandlmayr
Martin Brandlmayr
Peter Brandlmayr
Peter Brandlmayr

© ORF musikprotokoll im steirischen herbst 1968-2020