Skip to main content
Banner 2020
musikprotokoll 2020

Hidden Sounds
on stage – on air – online
7. – 11.10.2020, Graz

It has not been an easy path to this fifty-third edition of the ORF musikprotokoll festival. Our wish is to counter the past months’ uncertainty in planning with a “planned variety.” Besides numerous live concerts, this year’s festival offers sound installations, audio walks, music drama, and projects conceived for the internet and the radio station Österreich 1.

Sound can serve as a metaphor for omnipresence. Physiologically, we are not able to close our ears. Sound always surrounds us, but we only perceive it selectively. Our brain decides what is processed and what is blocked out. In this edition of the festival, we are presenting various approaches to detecting and working with Hidden Sounds.

Music enables us to access the reality of such sounds, which the human senses can only perceive in a rudimentary way, if at all, and which are frequently only technically measurable or even imaginary. It explores this reality, transforms it, gives rise to new worlds of sound, and leaves them behind again in a next step.

The audio and sound explorations of Hidden Sounds are performed and interpreted by the Vienna Radio Symphony Orchestra (RSO), first-rate ensembles for contemporary music, and musicians from SHAPE, the EU festival network for innovative music and audiovisual art.

>> Explore the program 2020


Director: Elke Tschaikner

Curated by: Rainer Elstner, Susanna Niedermayr, Christian Scheib, Elke Tschaikner, and Fränk Zimmer

A production of ORF Radio Österreich 1 and ORF-Landesstudio Steiermark

In coproduction with steirischer herbst ’20

In cooperation with University of Music and Performing Arts Graz, Ö1 Kunstradio, SHAPE – Sound, Heterogeneous Art and Performance in Europe, ICAS – International Cities of Advanced Sound, Institute for Art in Public Spaces, Museum of Perception MUWA, Institute of Electronic Music and Acoustics (IEM), Akademie Graz, esc medien kunst labor, Conto musicale, Bildungsdirektion für Steiermark, and die andere saite. Supported by the Creative Europe program of the European Union.

Image
musikprotokoll 2020 Programmbuchcover

Direkt zum Inhalt
Banner 2020
musikprotokoll 2020

Hidden Sounds
on stage – on air – online
7. – 11.10.2020, Graz

Der Weg zu dieser 53. Ausgabe des ORF musikprotokoll im steirischen herbst war nicht einfach. Wir möchten der Planungsunsicherheit der vergangenen Monate eine „Planungsvielfalt“ entgegensetzen. Neben zahlreichen Live-Konzerten bietet das Festival heuer Klanginstallationen, Hörspaziergänge, Musiktheater und Projekte, die für das Internet und Österreich 1 konzipiert wurden.

Klang kann als Metapher für das Allgegenwärtige stehen. Physiologisch sind wir nicht imstande, unsere Ohren zu schließen. Klang umgibt uns permanent, wir nehmen jedoch nur eine Auswahl davon wahr. Unser Gehirn entscheidet, was ausgeblendet und was verarbeitet wird. In dieser Festivalausgabe präsentieren wir unterschiedliche Zugänge zum Aufspüren von und Arbeiten mit verborgenen Klängen – Hidden Sounds.

Musik ermöglicht eine Annäherung an die oft nur technisch messbare oder auch imaginierte Wirklichkeit dieser Klänge, die sich den menschlichen Sinnen, wenn überhaupt, nur rudimentär erschließt. Sie erkundet diese Wirklichkeit, transformiert sie und erzeugt neue Klangwelten, um diese in einem nächsten Schritt wieder hinter sich zu lassen.

Vorgenommen und interpretiert werden die Hör- und Klangerkundungen von Hidden Sounds vom RSO Wien, Spitzenensembles zeitgenössischer Musik sowie Musiker/innen von SHAPE, dem EU-Festivalnetzwerk für innovative Musik und audiovisuelle Kunst.

>> Entdecken Sie das Programm 2020

 


Leitung: Elke Tschaikner

Kuratiert von Rainer Elstner, Susanna Niedermayr, Christian Scheib, Elke Tschaikner und Fränk Zimmer

Produktion: Österreich 1 und ORF Steiermark

In Koproduktion mit steirischer herbst ʼ20

In Kooperation mit Kunstuniversität Graz, Ö1 Kunstradio, SHAPE – Sound, Heterogeneous Art and Performance in Europe, ICAS – International Cities of Advanced Sound, Institut für Kunst im öffentlichen Raum Steiermark, MUWA Museum der Wahrnehmung, Institut für Elektronische Musik und Akustik – IEM, Akademie Graz, esc medien kunst labor, Conto musicale, Bildungsdirektion Steiermark und die andere saite.

Unterstützt vom „Creative Europe“-Programm der Europäischen Union.


Image
musikprotokoll 2020 Programmbuchcover