Wheat, not oats, dear. I’m afraid.

... and coming out of the brownstone house
to the gray sidewalk, the watered street,
one side of the buildings rises with the sun
like a glistening field of wheat.
– Wheat, not oats, dear. I’m afraid
if it’s wheat it’s none of your sowing,
nevertheless I’d like to know
what you are doing and where you are going.

Text: Elizabeth Bishop, Letter to N.Y.
(aus: A Cold Spring, 1955)

Elizabeth Bishop
Audio file
Johannes Maria Staud "Wheat, not oats, dear. I’m afraid." - ensemble recherche © ORF musikprotokoll, 2015

Komposition: Johannes Maria Staud

ensemble recherche
Martin Fahlenbock, Flöte
Jaime González, Oboe
Shizuyo Oka, Klarinette
Christian Dierstein, Schlagzeug
Melise Mellinger, Violine
Barbara Maurer, Viola
Åsa Åkerberg, Violoncello


Das Werk von Johannes Maria Staud ist ein Kompositionsauftrag des ensemble recherche und des ORF musikprotokoll, gefördert durch die Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung.

Helmut List Halle
Dieses Werk gehört zu dem Projekt:
musikprotokoll 2015 | ensemble recherche / 2015