DE | EN   

Klangwege 2010
Klangwege 2010

10/10/2010 - 19:30
Helmut List Halle
Mit Kompositionen von Studierenden der KUG Graz, Leitung: Peter Ablinger

Sometimes they are to be envied, visual artists, whose imagination seems to know practically no bounds thanks to their free access to all available materials and media. The situation is generally quite different for composers: if they actually want their work to be performed, they must bow to so many authorities that the ultimate outcome can only be what was certain to begin with: concerts halls with their fixed arrangement of sound and audience, interpreters whose skill conforms to the necessary standards, a set of instruments with a given genre history, notation and virtuosity, to name but a few. The young composers at “Klangwege 2010” – led and spurred on by Peter Ablinger – set out to escape these constraints, venturing out of the predefined situations and thus taking a look at what really goes to make a concert: conceptual, installational and concert pieces focus on the physical presence of the interpreters, the often neglected visual side of a performance, the societal act of the concert form and audience expectations.

Sophie Reyer (A) Marias Saiten  UA  Text-Performance |  
Davor Branimir Vincze (HR) / Pirjo Kalinowska Sag ma’ spinnst du komplett!?  UA  Installation
António Breitenfeld de Sá Dantas (P) Schall(platten)ballett  UA Installation
Matthias Kranebitter (A) Konzert für Cembalo und Ensemble in Es-Dur UA  Konzert
António Breitenfeld de Sá Dantas (P) Haydn, Streichquartett Hob. III, 16 in B Dur UA Konzert
Eun Ju Cha (ROK) Ö-Chim UA  Konzert
Andrez Gutierrez (MEX) The making of UA  Film
Yukika Watanabe (JP) Loch für Violoncello UA  Konzert/Performance
Americ Goh (SGP) Cater to your taste UA  Performance

With Ensemble für Neue Musik (A) & students of the Kunstuniversität Graz. Peter Ablinger (A), Direction / Edo Micic (HR), Conductor.

Afterwards award ceremony: Andrzej-Dobrowolski-composition award Land Steiermark 2010 for Klaus Lang and Andrzej-Dobrowolski-scholarship Land Steiermark 2010 for Peter Jakober.