Echo (2017) ©  courtesy of Nona Inescu and SpazioA gallery


tingles and clicks /graz

Andrea Sodomka / Svetlana Maraš / Marco Donnarumma / Natasha Barrett / Karlheinz Essl / Martina Claussen / Iwakura-Mohammadi-Rizzo-Strecker

The theme of tingles & clicks /graz is lost corporeality in the time of the coronavirus. Outstanding musicians create sound environments that visitors can explore while lying on wheel boards. Intimate one-person listening experiences take place in interaction with virtual sound objects.

Inversion 3 Speaking Surfaces

Natasha Barrett

Natasha Barrett records acoustic emissions in Graz’s public spaces using a high-definition 3D microphone and breaks down the recordings analytically. She then amplifies the unheard sounds and reassembles all the components. The inaudible becomes audible; putatively ambient sounds become an exciting, dynamic event.


Nona Inescu

Eighteen pairs of earbuds and thirty-six snail shells are the central objects in the sound installation Echo, created by Romanian-born artist Nona Inescu. The external world, once a shared auditory environment, is replaced by the earbuds; the snail shells serve as resonating chambers for individually localized bubbles of self-programmed sounds.

Beat Machines

Koka Nikoladzke

Georgia native Koka Nikoladze created a musical score in real time for the Black Page Orchestra. For the musikprotokoll, he also appears as a solo performer, demonstrating his delicate and fascinating beat machines made of wood and analog components.  

Artikulationen - Nomadic Crossings between Art and Research

Isabel Mundry, Natasha Barrett, Deniz Peters, ...

A mini-symposium – two English-language trialogues: What happens when artistic practice asks questions and becomes reflexive? How scientific will these expeditions be? With Natasha Barrett, Isabel Mundry, and others.

Danapris String Quartet

Danapris String Quartet / Ayaz Gambarli / Cynthia Zaven / Ihor Zavgorodnii / Alla Zagaykevych

The Danapris String Quartet opens up new musical horizons with their sensitive playing. The acclaimed Ukrainian ensemble travels through (re)constructed musical spaces, creating the world premieres of new string quartets from Azerbaijan, Lebanon, and Ukraine here in Graz. 

Ensemble for new music Tallinn

Nina Fukuoka / Georg Friedrich Haas / Klaus Lang / Anna-Louise Walton / Arash Yazdani

Arash Yazdani works in Tallinn, with the ensemble that travels with Alois Hába’s legendary sixth-tone harmonium – this time to Graz. Georg Friedrich Haas’s circle has produced composers who have developed a special sensitivity for microtonal sound structures. They present world premieres of commissioned microtonal works at the musikprotokoll.

Black Page Orchestra

Koka Nikoladze / Dror Feiler / Maja Bosnic / Clara Iannotta

The Black Page Orchestra turns conventions on their heads: a musical score is created before the eyes of the ensemble and the audience; listeners’ own bodies become resonating spaces; with the aid of an ecstatically playing instrumental ensemble, a film expands into three-dimensional space.