Echo (2017) ©  courtesy of Nona Inescu and SpazioA gallery

Events

 

tingles and clicks /graz

Andrea Sodomka / Svetlana Maraš / Marco Donnarumma / Natasha Barrett / Karlheinz Essl / Martina Claussen / Iwakura-Mohammadi-Rizzo-Strecker

The theme of tingles & clicks /graz is lost corporeality in the time of the coronavirus. Outstanding musicians create sound environments that visitors can explore while lying on wheel boards. Intimate one-person listening experiences take place in interaction with virtual sound objects.

Inversion 3 Speaking Surfaces

Natasha Barrett

Natasha Barrett records acoustic emissions in Graz’s public spaces using a high-definition 3D microphone and breaks down the recordings analytically. She then amplifies the unheard sounds and reassembles all the components. The inaudible becomes audible; putatively ambient sounds become an exciting, dynamic event.

Echo

Nona Inescu

Eighteen pairs of earbuds and thirty-six snail shells are the central objects in the sound installation Echo, created by Romanian-born artist Nona Inescu. The external world, once a shared auditory environment, is replaced by the earbuds; the snail shells serve as resonating chambers for individually localized bubbles of self-programmed sounds.

Beat Machines

Koka Nikoladzke

Georgia native Koka Nikoladze created a musical score in real time for the Black Page Orchestra. For the musikprotokoll, he also appears as a solo performer, demonstrating his delicate and fascinating beat machines made of wood and analog components.  

Artikulationen - Nomadic Crossings between Art and Research

Isabel Mundry, Natasha Barrett, Deniz Peters, ...

A mini-symposium – two English-language trialogues: What happens when artistic practice asks questions and becomes reflexive? How scientific will these expeditions be? With Natasha Barrett, Isabel Mundry, and others.

Humanoid sounds of human signs

Veronika Mayer

A human being and a computer negotiate via hand signals, manipulating sound as they do so. The sound performance raises the question: Do relationships, intuition and creativity exist when machine learning determines the realization of a composition? Who bears the musical and aesthetic responsibility?

Nomadic Dome

Hüma Utku / KMRU / Gischt

Microsounds from East Africa, the sudden spray of masses of water and the ambivalent human emotional experience: the three SHAPE artists KMRU, Gischt, and Hüma Utku have created new compositions for the Ambisonics sound system at the Dom im Berg.

Jitter - Mopcut

MOPCUT - Audrey Chen / Julien Desprez / Lukas König / Bernhard Rasinger

The improvisation trio MOPCUT celebrates the release of their second album, JITTER, at musikprotokoll, together with laser artist Bernhard Rasinger, aka BR Laser. He translates the music – sometimes mysteriously swirling, then ecstatic and eruptive once again – into dancing light.

Sulla Pelle

Valentina Magaletti & Julian Sartorius

For the duo project Sulla Pelle by Valentina Magaletti and Julian Sartorius, two drummers and percussionists have joined forces who both have a great passion for sound research and take great joy in experimenting and constantly expanding the tonal palettes of their instruments.

Danapris String Quartet

Danapris String Quartet / Ayaz Gambarli / Cynthia Zaven / Ihor Zavgorodnii / Alla Zagaykevych

The Danapris String Quartet opens up new musical horizons with their sensitive playing. The acclaimed Ukrainian ensemble travels through (re)constructed musical spaces, creating the world premieres of new string quartets from Azerbaijan, Lebanon, and Ukraine here in Graz. 

Ensemble for new music Tallinn

Nina Fukuoka / Georg Friedrich Haas / Klaus Lang / Anna-Louise Walton / Arash Yazdani

Arash Yazdani works in Tallinn, with the ensemble that travels with Alois Hába’s legendary sixth-tone harmonium – this time to Graz. Georg Friedrich Haas’s circle has produced composers who have developed a special sensitivity for microtonal sound structures. They present world premieres of commissioned microtonal works at the musikprotokoll.

Black Page Orchestra

Koka Nikoladze / Dror Feiler / Maja Bosnic / Clara Iannotta

The Black Page Orchestra turns conventions on their heads: a musical score is created before the eyes of the ensemble and the audience; listeners’ own bodies become resonating spaces; with the aid of an ecstatically playing instrumental ensemble, a film expands into three-dimensional space.

Ö1 Radio sehen, Radio hören Transparent

You can also experience or relisten to the musikprotokoll on Österreich 1 (Ö1). In thirty different programs—especially in the Zeit-Ton series—festival concerts will be broadcast via radio and on the internet.

Ensemble dissonArt

Loïc Destremau / Svetlana Maraš / Christian Winther Christensen / Carola Bauckholt

An aquarium becomes a musical instrument. A voice recording by Leonard Bernstein generates abstract sounds. The action mechanism of a historic grand piano conjures up Beethoven’s ghost. Animal locomotion triggers rhythms. The Greek ensemble dissonArt is on a quest for hidden sounds.

Ensemble Zeitfluss

Tanja Glinsner / Isabel Mundry / Anselm Schaufler / Xu Weiwei

Chansons as the “sonic ruins of a long-vanished time,” the acoustic impulses of a city, and Medea’s revenge: together with the collective die andere saite, the Ensemble Zeitfluss presents a program of world premieres that spans countries and generations.

London Contemporary Orchestra

CHAINES / Edmund Finnis

The London Contemporary Orchestra (LCO) presents an excellent example of how a 21st-century orchestra can work without anxiety or focus on genres – always right in the midst of the in between. With great self-assurance, the orchestra strikes a balance between progressive pop music and contemporary electronic music; at the same time, it incorporates film music from Hollywood productions and experimental cinema.

Exploratory Project

Phill Niblock

How to describe American composer Phill Niblock’s music: melody, rhythm, harmony? – Nope! At least not in the classical meaning of these terms. Density, texture, intensity, resistance, layering, friction, statics, mass – these concepts come a little closer to capturing it. It is truly an Exploratory Project, a project of “examining” sound.

Wander(E)aers - Pak Yan Lau

Pak Yan Lau

A child of Chinese immigrants who grew up in Brussels, Pak Yan Lau is a nomad between the two cultures. She draws her inspiration from the ritual music of Asia as well as from the sound research of Western avant-gardists.

The forest grows restless

Natasha Barrett

The Forest Grows Restless is a 3D Ambisonics performance. The concert transports listeners to an old Norwegian forest in which reality and fiction come together, and in which the dialogs between nature and an old piano that has stood outside for many years are influenced by the seasons, a memory of the past, and the climate of the future.

Browner

Phill Niblock

The densest of sound textures, fanned out across forty-eight speakers: the eighty-seven-year-old American “don daddy of drone music” Phill Niblock makes the Dom im Berg tremble with his new work Browner, based on prerecorded instrumental sounds.

Foldable Sounds Collective - Serviettenfalte

Foldable Sounds Collective

The Foldable Sounds Collective was formed during lockdown in April 2020, inviting people all over the world to provide recordings from their quarantine locations. These recordings were made into collective audio tracks; the profits from their sale were donated to charity.

musikprotokoll Dynamic Streaming 2021

In 2021, the musikprotokoll offers dynamic streaming of its concerts after the festival. Here, listeners’ head movements are tracked in real time, altering the spatial reproduction of what is heard – the result is an astonishingly realistic acoustic experience. With a computer, webcam, and headphones, anyone can test this new way of hearing from their own home.

Echo (2017) ©  courtesy of Nona Inescu and SpazioA gallery

Termine


tingles and clicks /graz

Mit: Andrea Sodomka / Svetlana Maraš / Marco Donnarumma / Natasha Barrett / Karlheinz Essl / Martina Claussen / Iwakura-Mohammadi-Rizzo-Strecker

tingles & clicks /graz thematisiert die verlorene Körperlichkeit der Corona-Zeit. Herausragende Musiker*innen schaffen Klangumgebungen, die Besucher*innen auf Rollbrettern liegend erkunden. In Interaktion mit virtuellen Klangobjekten entstehen intime Ein-Personen-Hörerlebnisse.

Echo

Mit: Nona Inescu

18 In-Ear-Kopfhörer und 36 Schneckenhäuser sind die zentralen Objekte der Klanginstallation Echo der in Rumänien geborenen Künstlerin Nona Inescu. Die Außenwelt, einst eine gemeinsam genutzte auditive Umgebung, wird durch die Kopfhörer ersetzt, die Schneckenhäuser dienen als Resonanzkammern für individuell lokalisierte Blasen selbstprogrammierter Klänge.

Inversion 3 Speaking Surfaces

Mit: Natasha Barrett

Natasha Barrett nimmt die akustischen Emissionen des öffentlichen Raums in Graz mit einem hochauflösenden 3-D-Mikrofon auf und zerlegt die Aufnahmen analytisch. Anschließend wird Ungehörtes verstärkt und alles neu zusammengefügt. Das Unhörbare wird hörbar, vermeintliche Nebengeräusche werden zum spannungsreichen Ereignis.

Beat Machines

Mit: Koka Nikoladzke

Für das Black Page Orchestra kreiert der gebürtige Georgier Koka Nikoladze eine Partitur in Echtzeit. Das musikprotokoll präsentiert ihn auch als Solo-Performer und zeigt seine faszinierenden, filigranen Beat Machines aus Holz und analogen Bauteilen.

Artikulationen - Nomadic Crossings between Art and Research

Mit: Isabel Mundry, Natasha Barrett, Deniz Peters, ...

Ein Mini-Symposium – zwei englischsprachige Trialoge: Was geschieht, wenn künstlerische Praxis Fragen stellt und reflexiv wird? Wie wissenschaftlich werden diese Forschungsreisen? Mit Natasha Barrett, Isabel Mundry und anderen.

Humanoid sounds of human signs

Mit: Veronika Mayer

Zwischen Mensch und Computer wird mit Handzeichen verhandelt und dadurch Klang manipuliert. Die Sound-Performance hinterfragt, ob Beziehung, Intuition und Kreativität vorhanden sind, wenn maschinelles Lernen die kompositorische Umsetzung bestimmt. Wer hat die musikalisch-ästhetische Verantwortung?

Nomadic Dome

Mit: Hüma Utku / KMRU / Gischt

Microsounds aus Ostafrika, jäh aufschäumende Wassermassen und das ambivalente menschliche Gefühlserleben ‒ für die Ambisonics-Anlage im Dom im Berg haben die drei SHAPE Artists KMRU, Gischt und Hüma Utku neue Kompositionen geschaffen.

Jitter - Mopcut

Mit: MOPCUT - Audrey Chen / Julien Desprez / Lukas König / Bernhard Rasinger

Das Improvisationstrio MOPCUT feiert beim musikprotokoll die Veröffentlichung seines zweiten Albums JITTER ‒ gemeinsam mit dem Laserkünstler Bernhard Rasinger aka BR Laser. Er übersetzt die mal geheimnisvoll brodelnde, dann wieder ekstatisch eruptive Musik in tanzendes Licht.

Sulla Pelle

Mit: Valentina Magaletti & Julian Sartorius

Für das Duo-Projekt Sulla Pelle von Valentina Magaletti und Julian Sartorius haben sich zwei Schlagzeuger*innen und Perkussionist*innen zusammengefunden, die beide eine große Leidenschaft für Klangforschung hegen und mit viel Experimentierfreude die Soundpalette ihrer Instrumente beständig erweitern.

Danapris String Quartet

Mit: Danapris String Quartet / Ayaz Gambarli / Cynthia Zaven / Ihor Zavgorodnii / Alla Zagaykevych

Mit seinem feinfühligen Spiel öffnet das Danapris String Quartet neue musikalische Horizonte. Das ukrainische Spitzenensemble reist durch musikalisch (re-)konstruierte Räume und kreiert in Graz die Weltpremieren neuer Streichquartette aus Aserbaidschan, dem Libanon und der Ukraine.

Ensemble for new music Tallinn

Mit: Nina Fukuoka / Georg Friedrich Haas / Klaus Lang / Anna-Louise Walton / Arash Yazdani

Arash Yazdani arbeitet in Tallin mit jenem Ensemble, das mit dem legendären Sechsteltonharmonium von Alois Hába auf Reisen geht ‒ diesmal nach Graz. Aus dem Umfeld von Georg Friedrich Haas stammen Komponist*innen, die ein besonderes Sensorium für mikrotonale Klangstrukturen entwickelt haben. Gemeinsam präsentieren sie beim musikprotokoll Uraufführungen mikrotonaler Auftragswerke.

Black Page Orchestra

Mit: Koka Nikoladze / Dror Feiler / Maja Bosnic / Clara Iannotta

Das Black Page Orchestra stellt Konventionen auf den Kopf: Eine Partitur entsteht vor den Augen von Ensemble und Publikum; die Körper der Hörer*innen selbst werden zum Resonanzraum; ein Film weitet sich mit Hilfe eines ekstatisch spielenden Instrumentalensembles in den dreidimensionalen Raum aus.

Ö1 Radio sehen, Radio hören Transparent

Das musikprotokoll können Sie auch mit Ö1 erleben und nachhören. In dreißig Sendungen ‒ vor allem in der Reihe Zeit-Ton ‒ werden die Festivalkonzerte via Radio und im Internet präsentiert.

Ensemble dissonArt

Mit: Loïc Destremau / Svetlana Maraš / Christian Winther Christensen / Carola Bauckholt

Ein Aquarium wird zum Instrument. Eine Sprachaufnahme Leonard Bernsteins generiert abstrakte Klänge. Die Klaviermechanik eines historischen Flügels beschwört Beethovens Geist. Tierische Fortbewegungsarten triggern Rhythmen. Das griechische dissonArt ensemble auf der Suche nach versteckten Klängen.

Ensemble Zeitfluss

Mit: Tanja Glinsner / Isabel Mundry / Anselm Schaufler / Xu Weiwei

Chansons als „Klang-Ruine einer längst entschwundenen Zeit“, die klanglichen Impulse einer Stadt und Medeas Rache – das Ensemble Zeitfluss mit einem länder- und generationenübergreifenden Uraufführungsprogramm, erstellt gemeinsam mit dem Verein die andere saite.

London Contemporary Orchestra

Mit: CHAINES / Edmund Finnis

Das London Contemporary Orchestra (LCO) zeigt exemplarisch, wie ein Orchester im 21. Jahrhundert ohne Genredenken und Berührungsängste arbeiten kann – immer mittendrin im Zwischendrin. Das Orchester schafft mit großer Selbstverständlichkeit den Spagat zwischen progressiver Popmusik und zeitgenössischer E-Musik, parallel dazu spielt es Filmmusik zu Hollywood-Produktionen und Experimentalfilmen ein.

Exploratory Project

Mit: Phill Niblock

Die Musik des amerikanischen Komponisten Phill Niblock: Melodie, Rhythmus, Harmonik ‒ Fehlanzeige. Zumindest in der klassischen Bedeutung dieser Begriffe. Dichte, Konsistenz, Intensität, Widerstand, Schichtung, Reibung, Statik, Masse‒ mit diesen Konzepten kommt man seiner Musik schon näher. Sie ist ein wahres Exploratory Project, ein Projekt zur „Untersuchung“ von Klang.

Wander(E)aers - Pak Yan Lau

Mit: Pak Yan Lau

Aufgewachsen als Kind chinesischer Einwanderer in Brüssel ist Pak Yan Lau eine Nomadin zwischen den Kulturen. Ihre Inspiration schöpft sie aus den rituellen Musiken Asiens ebenso wie aus den Klangforschungen westlicher Avantgardist*innen.

The forest grows restless

Mit: Natasha Barrett

The Forest Grows Restless ist eine 3-D-Ambisonics-Performance. Das Konzert versetzt die Zuhörer*innen in einen alten norwegischen Wald, in dem sich Realität und Fiktion treffen, und in dem die Gespräche zwischen der Natur und einem alten Klavier, das seit vielen Jahren im Freien steht, von den Jahreszeiten, einer Erinnerung an die Vergangenheit und dem Klima der Zukunft beeinflusst werden.

Browner

Mit: Phill Niblock

Dichteste Klangtexturen, auf 48 Lautsprecher aufgefächert: Der 87-jährige amerikanische don daddy of drone music“ Phill Niblock lässt mit seinem neuen, auf voraufgenommenen Instrumentalklängen beruhenden Stück Browner den Dom im Berg erbeben.

Foldable Sounds Collective - Serviettenfalte

Mit: Foldable Sounds Collective

Das Foldable Sounds Collective hat sich während des Lockdowns im April 2020 formiert und lädt Menschen aus der ganzen Welt ein, Aufnahmen aus ihrer Quarantäne bereitzustellen. Aus diesen entstehen kollektive Audiotracks, deren Erlöse für wohltätige Zwecke gespendet werden.

musikprotokoll Dynamic Streaming 2021

2021 bietet das musikprotokoll nach dem Festival ein dynamisches Streaming seiner Konzerte an. Dabei werden die Kopfbewegungen der Zuhörer*innen in Echtzeit getrackt, so dass sich die räumliche Wiedergabe des Gehörten verändert – es entsteht ein verblüffend realitätsnahes Klangerlebnis. Mit Computer, Webcam und Kopfhörer kann jede*r von zu Hause aus diese neue Art des Hörens ausprobieren.