SHAPE platform is announcing its 2017 list of artists.

Andreas Trobollowitsch, Ventorgano

The Creative Europe-supported SHAPE platform for innovative music and audiovisual art is announcing its 2017 list of artists. The artist selection for the platform’s third year traditionally places a diverse selection of audiovisual projects and sound artists alongside musical acts that range from post-grime and techno to free improvisation and experiments with field recordings. The platform is run by a union of 16 European festivals, including Insomnia, Maintenant, Unsound, CTM and musikprotokoll.

The platform

A 3-year initiative co-funded by the Creative Europe programme of the European Union, the SHAPE project reunites 16 European non-profit organizations active within the ICAS – International Cities of Advanced Sound network to create a platform that aims to support, promote, and exchange innovative and aspiring emergent musicians and interdisciplinary artists with an interest in sound. SHAPE stands for “Sound, Heterogeneous Art and Performance in Europe”. SHAPE annually chooses 48 musicians and artists to participate in a mix of live performances, residencies, workshops and talks across member festivals and special events.

The selection process

Each year, the curatorial teams of all 16 SHAPE festivals and initiatives come together and choose 48 artists. The artist roster has been created disregarding divisions of genre, age or popularity. Rather, creative novelty and successful experimentation have served as core values, with additional emphasis on the inclusion of upcoming and underexposed artists as well as representing local scenes of involved festivals and art centers. - See more at:

Zeit-Ton Portrait

Listen to the Zeit-Ton Portrait about Andreas Trobollowitsch on the 1st day of the new Shape year.
He was nominated for Shape by musikprotokoll, together with Stefan Fraunberger and Battle-ax. Here you can see him with his self built instrument Ventorgano.

1.12.2016 - 23:08
Radio Österreich 1
Susanna Niedermayr


Full list of SHAPE artists for 2017

Alex Augier (FR)
Amnesia Scanner (FI/DE)
Andreas Trobollowitsch (AT)
Anna Meredith (UK) 
Anna Zaradny (PL)
Apeiron Crew (DK)
Battle-Ax (AUS, AT) 
Black Zone Myth Chant (FR) 
Boska (NO)
Céh/Új Bála (HU)
Chlorys (RO)
Christian Kroupa (SI)
Danny L Harle (UK)
Elektrovolt (NL)
Entrópia Architektúra (HU)
Fraction (FR)
Franck Vigroux (FR)
Gabey Tjon a Tham (NL)
Hiele (BE)
Ilias Pitsios aka Dynamons (GR)
Inga Mauer (RUS/NL)
Jacques (FR)
JG Biberkopf (LT)
Julien Desprez (FR)

Lišaj (CZ)
Machine Woman (RU/DE)
Maoupa Mazzochetti (BE)

Mari Kvien Brunvoll (NO)
Matthias Härtig ( (DE)
Mike Rijnierse (NL)
Mr. Mitch (UK)
Ninja Sword (FR)
Olivia (PL)
Oriole & Linda Konone (LV)
Robertina Šebjanič & Slavko Glamočanin: Aurelia 1+Hz (SI)
Ron Morelli (US/FR)
Sis_Mic (FR)
Stefan Fraunberger (AT)
Stephen Grew (UK)
Thomas Ankersmit (NL/DE)
Unknown Child (HU)
v4w.enko (UA)
Varg (SE)
Wacław Zimpel (PL)


Für das Zeit-Ton Portrait brachte Andreas Trobollowitsch sein Ventorgano mit zum Interview im Wiener Funkhaus
Radio Österreich 1 Bild

Mo-Fr 23.05Uhr
Radio Österreich 1

ORF Kunstradio

So 23.03Uhr
Radio Österreich 1

RSO Wien

Das ORF Orchester
mit Schwerpunkt Neue Musik.